The Ohio State University Alumni Association

In 2018, the alumni association will celebrate our 60th annual awards ceremony, a tradition honoring alumni who have brought extraordinary pride to Ohio State. Play a role in selecting this special class of honorees by nominating a fellow Buckeye for one of eight prestigious awards.

Submit Nomination

Nominations will close on March 31, 2018.

2018 Alumni Awards Information

Past Recipients

The honors

Alumni Medalist Award

The highest honor afforded by The Ohio State University Alumni Association. It’s presented to alumni who have gained national or international distinction by championing a chosen field or profession — those advocates who have brought extraordinary credit to the university and significant benefit to humankind.

Ralph Davenport Mershon Award

Presented to alumni who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and service to The Ohio State University.

William Oxley Thompson Alumni Award

Awarded to young alumni who have demonstrated notable achievement through a career, civic involvement or both. Nominees must not reach their 36th birthday during the year in which the award is given.

Robert M. Duncan Alumni Citizenship Award

Given to alumni who have distinguished themselves through service to humanity and who best exemplify the university’s motto, “Education for Citizenship.” Nominees will have performed significant voluntary service to their communities beyond the call of business or professional duty.

Archie M. Griffin Professional Achievement Award

Presented to alumni who have superb records of career accomplishments and outstanding professional contributions.

Dan L. Heinlen Award

Awarded to those who have realized outstanding achievements advocating on behalf of Ohio State with one or more of its important audiences. It recognizes accomplishments ranging from student and faculty recruitment to advocacy with elected officials and thought leaders.

Josephine Sitterle Failer Award

Presented to those whose volunteerism has enhanced the quality of student life at the university.

Diversity Champion Award

Granted to alumni who have made a significant and sustained contribution that fosters diversity and inclusion in their broader communities and/or organizations. The recipient will recognize and respect the value of individual differences, such as with race, color, creed, religion, sexual orientation, national origin, sex, age, disability, veteran or military service status, gender identity, economic status, political belief, marital status or social background.