The Ohio State University Alumni Association


Learn about the life events of fellow Ohio State alums through AlumNews. Search by name, graduation year or type of announcement.

Have news to share? Submit your own announcement to appear in AlumNews.

Submit an announcement Update your info Find a classmate

Search AlumNews


Jeff Buchert

Jeff Buchert ’75 (LM) of Caledonia, Michigan, has retired after 20 years with DeWitt Packaging Corporation of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Previously, he spent 20 years as a string teacher and orchestra director in Grove City, Ohio, and Midland, Michigan.

Jelane Kennedy

Jelane Kennedy '85 MA of Schroon Lake, New York, published Women Scholars: Navigating the Doctoral Journey, a reference book for women students and alumni considering going on to earn their doctorate.

Earl Stahl

Earl Stahl ’65 PhD of Neenah, Wisconsin, published his article, “For Love of Land and Cattle,” in Range Magazine's s winter edition as its feature article. Previously, Stahl was awarded in 2017 for Best Investigative Story by the Nevada Press Association for "Wolves, Killers at Your Door” in Range Magazine.

Gay Su Pinnell

Gay Su Pinnell ’68 MA, ’75 PHD (LM) of Dublin, Ohio, an Ohio State Professor Emerita, received an honorary doctorate from Lesley University, located in Cambridge, Mass., on Saturday May 19. Upon receipt of her degree, she addressed over one thousand master’s and PHD candidates from Lesley’s Graduate School of Education and Graduate School of Arts and Social Sciences with a message about the importance of educational access and literacy education.

Alex Szablewski

Alex Szablewski ’15 of Monument, Colorado, is the events/competitions manager at USA Shooting.

Thomas McKenzie

Thomas L. McKenzie ’76 PHD of San Diego, California, received the Luther H. Gulick Medal, the highest honor from SHAPE America. McKenzie is the emeritus professor of exercise and nutritional sciences at San Diego State University.

Donna Messer

Donna M. Messer ’65 of Lima, Ohio, is chair of the City of Naples Airport Authority. She is also principal of Carl Ryan Associates LLC, a coaching, mentoring and team building consulting firm.

Craig Phillips

Craig Phillips ’72 (LM) of Lake Saint Louis, Missouri, is a Low Vision Therapist at the Drews Low Vision Clinic.

Richard Brown

Richard Brown ’67 (LM) of Pataskala, Ohio, is a STEM Supervisor of Mathematics Student Teachers at the Ohio State University.

Mark Weiker

Mark Weiker ’02 of Columbus, Ohio, is the author of “Online Schools in Ohio Deliver Education in a Different Way” (February 2018), a column for the Ohio State Bar Association.

Susan Cavanaugh

Susan A. Cavanaugh ’69, ’74 MA (LM) of Columbus, Ohio, is the author of A Corporation is a Person Like the Emperor’s New Clothes Were Real (October 2017).

Aimee Fowler

Aimee L. Fowler ’91 of Perrysville, Ohio, is the author of Permanent Marker: A Memoir (March 2018) and is a 2018 finalist for the National Teachers Hall of Fame. She is also the keynote speaker for the American Society of Journalists and Authors Annual Conference this May in New York City.