The Ohio State University Alumni Association


Learn about the life events of fellow Ohio State alums through AlumNews. Search by name, graduation year or type of announcement.

Have news to share? Submit your own announcement to appear in AlumNews.

Submit an announcement Update your info Find a classmate

Search AlumNews


Ronald Stansbury

Ronald Stansbury ’70, ’74 JD of Chagrin Falls, Ohio, was named one of The Best Lawyers in America. He specializes in employee benefits law in the Cleveland law office of Tucker Ellis.

William Brueggeman

William Brueggeman ’70 PHD of Dallas, Texas, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Dallas/Fort Worth OSU Alumni Club.

Martin Strischek

Martin J. Strischek III '68 of Marietta, Georgia, is a member of the Private Company Council of the Financial Accounting Standards Board.

Carol Gillespie and Ron Thompson

Carol Gillespie ’67 (LM) and Ron Thompson ’67, ’69 MS (LM) of Utica, Ohio, celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary on August 19, 2017.

Charles Kurfess

Charles F. Kurfess ’57 JD of Perrysburg, Ohio, received the 2017 Thomas J. Moyer Award for Judicial Excellence from the Ohio State Bar Association. Kurfess served for 12 years as Wood County, Ohio, Common Pleas Court judge. He also served in the Ohio General Assembly for 22 years.

Norton Webster

Norton Webster ’49, ’52 JD of Columbus received the Bar Medal, the Ohio State Bar Association’s highest honor. Webster was president of the Ohio State Bar Association from 1967 to 1968. He is a retired partner in the Columbus law office of Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease.

Eugene Ramsey Hardin IV

Eugene Ramsey Hardin IV ’15 (LM) of Greenville, South Carolina, earned a master’s degree in Social Studies Education from the University of South Carolina.

Frank Blazich

Frank A. Blazich Jr. ’13 PHD of Alexandria, Virginia, edited the University of Missouri Press book, “Bataan Survivor: A POW’s Account of Japanese Captivity in World War II.” The book is the memoir of Colonel David L. Hardee. Blazich is an historian at the Naval History and Heritage Command in Washington, D.C.

Tina Bogac

Tina Bogac ’11 MA, ’15 MBA (LM) of Columbus has been honored with a Distinguished Staff Award from Ohio State.

Susan Cullen

Susan Cullen ’09 of Berea, Ohio, received a “25 Under 35 Award” from Saint Joseph Academy in Cleveland, honoring alumnae who have demonstrated personal and professional achievements since graduation from SJA.

Mary-Margaret Fill

Mary-Margaret Fill ’07 of Nashville, Tennessee, presented her research into neonatal abstinence syndrome during the 66th Annual Epidemic Intelligence Service Conference in April 2017. Fill is an EIS officer with the Centers for Disease Control in Tennessee. NAS is a group of symptoms that occur when newborns experience withdrawal after being exposed to opiates while in the womb.

Brenna Fasko

Brenna Fasko ’06 of Akron, Ohio, received a “25 Under 35 Award” from Saint Joseph Academy in Cleveland, honoring alumnae who have demonstrated personal and professional achievements since graduation from SJA.

Janelle Glick Kolisch

Janelle Glick Kolisch ’06 of Lake Oswego, Oregon, was named Young Engineer of the Year by the Professional Engineers of Oregon. She works for Heery International in Portland.

Adam Kerlek

Adam C. Kerlek ’05 of Naples, Florida, was named a 2017 Florida Super Lawyers Rising Star.

Rebecca Rhinehart

Rebecca Rhinehart ’03 of Canal Winchester, Ohio, received the 2017 Bexley Educator of the Year Award from the Bexley Education Foundation. She is Theatre Arts director for the Bexley school district.

Stacie Elkhoury

Stacie Elkhoury ’03 (LM) of Sonoma, California, was named to the North Bay Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 List, honoring business professionals younger than 40 in Napa, Sonoma and Marin counties in California.

Stephanie Bruno

Stephanie Bruno ’03 of Denver, Colorado, celebrated the fifth anniversary of her firm, Steph Bruno Wealth Advisor, with the launch of her “Thriving Retirement Plan.”

Alice Jones

Alice L. Jones ’98 PHD of Richmond, Kentucky, co-edited the book “Water in Kentucky: Natural History, Communities, and Conservation,” published by University Press of Kentucky.