Please Note: This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards,
but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Faculty Awards for Distinguished University Service

The Faculty Award for Distinguished University Service honors faculty members whose contributions to the development and implementation of university policies and programs through non-administrative roles have been extensive and have made documentable impact on the quality of the university. The recipients also have continued to provide effective teaching and have maintained an active program of research, scholarship, or creative work. Recipients are nominated by members of the university community and selected by a committee of faculty, administrators, and previous recipients. They receive both a cash award of $3,000 and an increase of $1,200 to their base salaries from the Office of Academic Affairs.

Recognizing Excellence at Ohio State

Current University Awards winners

Previous University Awards winners

Click on photo or scroll down the page to read winner's bio.

Don M. Dell
Associate Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Psychology

For more than 30 years, Don Dell has served Ohio State at every possible level from curriculum revision to space allocation. He has dealt with the delicate (dealing with student complaints about teachers) and the difficult (ensuring the protection of human participants in research) with wisdom, fairness and skill. His ability to organize and to achieve consensus among sometimes unwieldy groups has made him one of the university's most sought-after committee members, and he continues to apply the same zeal to his significant teaching and advising duties. He currently serves as departmental liaison to the University Architect's Office and as a member of the psychology department's Graduate Program Committee, the University Senate Ad Hoc Committee on the Undergraduate Curriculum and the Council on Academic Affairs Subcommittee on Curricular Quality Control. He received his doctorate in counseling and student personnel psychology from the University of Minnesota.

Zita Divis
Associate Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Mathematics

During two terms on the University Senate and on a number of university-level councils and committees, Zita Divis has become a mainstay of university governance over the past decade. With a clear vision of what Ohio State can and should be, she has applied her analytical skills as a mathematician to the issue at hand and led the way to the appropriate solution. She has served on, and often chaired, some of the most influential, important and time-consuming committees at the university, including the Council on Academic Affairs, the Faculty Compensation and Benefits Committee, the University Fiscal Committee and the Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility. Her recent appointment to the Evaluation of Central Administrators Committee, for which she was nominated by the faculty and selected by the university president, is further evidence of the esteem awarded her by both her colleagues and the university's administration. She received a Ph.D. in mathematics from Ruprecht-Karl University in Heidelberg.

Dan Farrell
Department of Philosophy

Dan Farrell defines the ideal of a university citizen, serving at the departmental, college, university and community levels for the past 30 years. As an effective and respected department chair, he guided Ohio State's philosophy program into the top 25 graduate programs in the nation. While serving as chair, he simultaneously held leadership roles in several College of Humanities' committees, including the Promotion and Tenure Committee, and in the University Senate, where he chaired the Senate Ad Hoc Budget Restructuring Oversight Committee during particularly fiscally challenging times. His creative work on behalf of the university's talented undergraduate students has resulted in broadened research opportunities and expanded curriculum in the Honors and Scholars program. He brings an unhesitating and thoughtful generosity of time and talent to all that is asked of him, earning him the highest respect of his peers. He earned his doctorate in philosophy at The Rockefeller University.

2003 Faculty Awards for Distinguished University Service


Previous winners

Return to University Awards home


return to top

The Ohio State University