Development celebrates outstanding volunteers

October 7, 2010

Janis and Michael Bloch (top) received a Gerlach Award, as did Dr. G. Gilbert "Gil" Cloyd (bottom left), for their outstanding volunteer leadership. Barbara Trueman (bottom right) received the 2010 Reese Medal in recognition of her exceptional service in private philanthropy.

President E. Gordon Gee presented the 2010 John B. Gerlach, Sr. Development Volunteer Awards for outstanding volunteer leadership to Janis and Michael Bloch and Dr. G. Gilbert Cloyd, and the 2010 Everett D. Reese Medal for exceptional service in philanthropy to Barbara Trueman at a ceremony on Thursday, October 7.

Janis and Michael Bloch were recognized with a Gerlach Award to honor their work on behalf of the Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute, and for their commitment to the Department of Athletics and the Ohio State University Medical Center Urology Department. Janis was recently appointed to the The Ohio State University Foundation Board of Directors and continues to serve on The Arthur G. James and Richard J. Solove Research Institute Foundation Board.

Dr. G. Gilbert "Gil" Cloyd received a Gerlach Award in recognition of his longstanding commitment to expanding post-secondary educational opportunities for students, and for his work facilitating the application of Ohio State’s research capabilities to solve important global problems and foster economic development. Gil served as chairperson of the The Ohio State University Board of Trustees from 2007-09.  He was appointed as Board of Trustees Charter Trustee in October 2009.

The 2010 Reese Medal, the highest award presented by The Ohio State University to recognize exceptional service in private philanthropy, was presented to Barbara Trueman.

As a former member of the College of Veterinary Medicine’s Development Advisory Council, Barbara has been instrumental in planning for the college’s advancement. She has served on The Ohio State University Foundation Board since 1994, where she was vice chair from 2002-2004; was a member of the National Campaign Executive Committee during the University’s successful “Affirm Thy Friendship” campaign; and is a member of the Wexner Center for the Arts Board of Trustees. Barbara is also a founding member of Ohio State’s Women & Philanthropy steering committee, and has served on the National Council for Ohio State Women. She received a John B. Gerlach Sr. Development Volunteer Award in 1999 and the University’s Distinguished Service Award in 2002.