December 2020

COVID-19 vaccine. The Wexner Medical Center made history as one of the first places in the United States and the first in Ohio to administer the COVID-19 vaccine. Ohio State President Kristina M. Johnson joined Ohio Governor Mike DeWine, First Lady Fran DeWine and hospital staff to greet the UPS truck containing the vaccine, while medical center workers spelled out O-H-I-O in the hospital’s loading dock.

Racial justice initiative. An initiative promoting the use of research to address the impact of racism and racial disparities is underway. Ten team projects were awarded funding for the first round of Ohio State’s Seed Fund for Racial Justice, which seeks to develop research approaches and creative ideas to address racism and solve its underlying causes and consequences across the nation.

Congrats, new grads! Ohio State celebrated nearly 4,000 new graduates during the virtual autumn commencement ceremony. It was the first Buckeye commencement for President Johnson, who delivered a message focusing on optimism, kindness and community. Commencement speaker and longtime television news anchor Jerry Revish encouraged graduates to take advantage of opportunities wherever they present themselves, even in challenging times.

Buckeye generosity. The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute has received a $10 million gift from the Paula and Rodger Riney Foundation to establish the Riney Family Foundation Myeloma Center for Advanced Research Excellence. And after giving $7.5 million to the College of Education and Human Ecology for children’s literacy, Professor Emerita Gay Su Pinnell has made a new $2 million gift to support the college’s comprehensive school literacy model for grades K-8.

Academic honors. Academic All-Big Ten honors this season. The total of 120 fall honorees is a best for Ohio State. The sports included are field hockey, football, men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s soccer and women’s volleyball. In all, 1,601 student-athletes from across the conference were recognized, the most since the award was established in 1990.