Page content

Ohio State congratulates student scholars

May 30, 2012

Outstanding Ohio State students have won prestigious awards, grants, and scholarships—bravo! It’s recognition that proves they’re in the big leagues.

2012 Honors and Scholars

Once the realm of Ivy League schools, national and international accolades are now annually bestowed upon exceptional Buckeyes. The scholarly pursuits of these award-winning undergraduates and members of Ohio State's Honors Collegium are leading to game-changing research with real-world implications.

“This has been a wonderful year for the success of our students in winning national and internationally recognized fellowships,” says Linn Van Woerkom, Associate Provost and Director, Honors & Scholars. “This runs the range from the Churchill Fellowship all the way to nationally recognized Goldwater Fellowships for performing research at an undergraduate level.”

Marc Khoury, computer science and engineering, is the third Ohio State student ever to be named a Churchill Scholar. Building on the research he began as an undergraduate, Marc will pursue an M.Phil. in advanced computer science at the University of Cambridge, researching geometric modeling.

Truman Scholar Alex Chaitoff, microbiology and political science, co-founded the nonprofit Pure Water Access Project to study the implementation of water filters in developing nations. He serves as vice president for the student group Global Health Initiative, and is conducting research on racial disparities in seeking mental illness treatment.

The university’s three Goldwater Scholars are poised for promising careers in the natural sciences, mathematics, and engineering. John Greco, physics and astronomy, studied star formation in galaxies and conducted high-energy particle physics research. Ronald Siebenaler, biomedical science, plans to research experimental cancer therapeutics. And Grant Yang, electrical and computer engineering, serves on the Engineer’s Council and mentors high school students through the OSU FIRST Robotics competition.

Congrats to Ohio State’s 2011-2012 top scholars:

Churchill Scholar
Marc Khoury (Computer Science and Engineering)

Harry S. Truman Scholar
Alex Chaitoff (Microbiology)

Barry M. Goldwater Scholars
Johnny Greco (Physics and Astronomy)
Ronald Siebenaler (Biomedical Sciences)
Grant Yang (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Barry M. Goldwater Honorable Mention
Nicholas Jarjour (Biomedical Sciences)

Fulbright Grantees
Cheasequah Blevins (Molecular Genetics)
Chance Brodsky (Political Science)
Qorsho Hassan (Sociology)
Thomas Kaffenberger (Biomedical Science)
Jacqueline Lipphardt (Anthropology)
Briana Yuh (Visual Communication Design)

Morris K. and Stuart L. Udall Honorable Mentions
Ariel Miller (Anthropology and Environmental Policy and Management)
Henry Peller (Crop Science)

Critical Language Scholars
Yuri Doolan (History and Korean)
Sanya Dosani (Arabic)
Lauren Kowalik (International Studies)
Peter Marzalik (International Studies and Russian)
Kyle Olson (Anthropology and ASC Personalized Study Program)
Michael Orvets (Korean)
Elizabeth Pillion (Linguistics)
Julianna Poole (Microbiology)
Jennifer Ravi (Japanese and Economics)
Cory Sabet (International Studies)
Jacob Somerlot (Russian and Islamic Studies)
Dina Tayim (Mechanical Engineering)

Benjamin A. Gilman Scholars
Nathan Blackwell (Japanese and Music)
Christina Flores (Korean and Spanish)
Adam Kong (International Studies and Chinese)
Leslie Minney (International Studies)
David Veintimilla (Political Science and International Studies)

Ernest F. Hollings Scholar
Tyler Sebree (Atmospheric Sciences)

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellows
Ross Askanazi (Economics and Mathematics)
Drew Enigk (Animal Sciences)
Kelsey Gray (Biomedical Science)
Marc Khoury (Computer Science and Engineering)
Emily Marron (Environmental Engineering)
Eddie McCary (Physics)
Mallory Molina (Physics and Astronomy)
J. Scott Moreland (Physics and Mathematics)
Sarah Schloemer (Biomedical Engineering)
Tom Zajdel (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

NSF Graduate Research Honorable Mentions
Phil Bunting (Chemistry)
Ryan Clark (Chemical Engineering)
Kevin Kauffman (Chemical Engineering)
Rory Kennedy (Mechanical Engineering)
Elizabeth Otto (Astronomy and Physics)

Thomas R. Pickering Graduate Foreign Affairs Fellow
Stephanie Sobek (International Studies and Political Science)