Page content

Faculty honored for contributions to university

April 23, 2014

Smiles, confusion, laughter and even some tears can accompany the surprise visits from university leaders every spring, as faculty around Ohio State are recognized for excellence in the classroom, in research and in service.

Congratulations to the 2014 recipients of Ohio State’s Distinguished Teaching, Distinguished Scholar, Distinguished Faculty Service and Teaching by a Lecturer awards. They are honored for their distinguished contributions to the betterment of the university community. 

Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching
  • Martin Robert Feinberg, Richard M. Morrow Chair in Polymer Engineering, William G. Lowrie Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Steven James Joyce, Associate Professor
Germanic Languages and Literatures, OSU Mansfield
  • Trevon D. Logan, Associate Professor, Department of Economics
  • Warren Benson McCorkle Jr., Professor
Department of English, OSU Marion
  • Donald O. Mutti, E. F. Wildermuth Professor, College of Optometry
  • Jennifer E. Schlueter, Assistant Professor, Department of Theatre
  • Robert Anthony Siston, Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Mazeika Sullivan, Assistant Professor,
School of Environment and Natural Resources
  • Tatiana Suspitsyna, Associate Professor, Department of Educational Studies
  • Todd Alan Thompson, Associate Professor, Department of Astronomy
University Distinguished Scholar Award
  • Frederick Luis Aldama, Arts and Humanities Distinguished Professor,
Departments of English and of Spanish and Portuguese
  • Samson T. Jacob, The William C. and Joan E. Davis Cancer Research Professor,
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
  • Lung-fei Lee, University Chair in Macroeconomics-Monetary Economics,
Department of Economics
  • Samir D. Mathur, Professor,
Department of Physics
  • DeLiang Wang, Professor,
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
  • Thomas E. Wittum, Professor,
Department of Veterinary Preventative Medicine
President and Provost’s Award for Distinguished Faculty Service
  • Philip T.K. Daniel, The William Ray and Marie Adamson Flesher Professor in Educational Administration, 
Department of Educational Studies
  • Terry L. Gustafson, Professor
, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Kay N. Wolf, Professor
, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Provost’s Award for Teaching by a Lecturer
  • Lisa Cravens-Brown, Department of Psychology
  • Richard Daley, Moritz College of Law
  • Anthony Shoup, Department of Physics, OSU Lima